# Friends of the Rouge Board of Directors Meeting Minutes January 8, 2020 PARC Offices Plymouth, MI 48170

<u>Directors Present:</u> Alice Bailey (AB), John Deslip (JD), Bill Hazel (BH), Dave Maurice (DM), Mike McNulty (MM), Dave Norwood (DN), Mike Rudell (MR), Elizabeth Palazzola (EP), Susan Thompson (ST), Al VanKerckhove (AVK), Laura Wagner (LW) (11 total)

On Conference call: Paul Draus (PD), Brandy Siedlaczek (BS) (2 total)

**Directors Excused:** Orin Gelderloos (OG), Andrew Hoffman (AH), (2 total)

**Directors Absent:** (0 total)

**Staff Members Present:** Marie McCormick (MMC), Karen Hannah (KH), Sally Petrella (3 total)

### **Guests:**

# 1) CALL TO ORDER

Vice-President AB called the meeting to order at 5:18pm

# 2) APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to approve agenda made by LW, seconded by DN. Motion carried

- 3) WELCOME TO NEW BOARD MEMBERS
- a. Open Q and A

# 4) APPROVAL OF BOARD MINUTES

a. December 11, 2019

Motion to approve made by MM seconded by AVK. Motion carried

# 5) BOARD OFFICER ELECTIONS

A electronic committee list/matrix will be sent out to board members to select committees. Board members are required to sign up for two committees

Nominations for Board Officers and election results (attached)

President LW took over chairing the meeting

- 6) REPORTS (also refer to reports in Board packet)
- a. Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) is scheduled to hold calls on a monthly basis. No committee set as of yet for 2020

# b. Executive Director

Refer to reports attached for highlights

Review of Strategic Plan initiatives

c. Rouge Education Project (REP)

Refer to reports attached for highlights

# d. Restoration/Watershed Monitoring Programs

Trash removal grant a potential; monitoring intern was selected: Mike Szlinis; FOTR is participating in Salt Watch at Winter Stonefly Search

# e. Rouge River Water Trail Leadership Committee

Working with PEA/Sam Lovall with plans to retrofit launches at Melvindale; Ralph C. Wilson is interested in funding launches and Watershed Planner position, working on connecting into land trails. Asked to call a meeting between stakeholders to develop a connector to the Lower Rouge/Main Rouge in Dearborn.

A job offer was presented to a candidate for the Watershed Planner position.

The next committee meeting is January 16, 2020

# f. Membership Report/Committee

Annual Meeting date is March 19, 2020 at Downey Brewing Company, Dearborn

Best Friends of the Rouge Awards (for presentation at Annual Meeting) Diane O' Connell, Schoolcraft College- Julie Frentrup Award Sierra Club- Detroit City of Livonia

Roeper School

Motion to approve the creation of the Young Environmentalist Award made by DN, seconded by AVK. Motion carried

Motion to approve Roeper School for the first awardee of the Young Environmentalist Award made by BH, seconded by AVK. Motion carried

Motion to accept the Best Friend of the Rouge Awards as presented made by DN, seconded by AVK. Motion carried

# g. Fund Development Committee

Fund Development Committee will be scheduled soon

### h. Finance Committee/Treasurer

i. December 2019

No finance committee report

# 7) NEW BUSINESS

### a. Upcoming hire updates

Discussed in ED's report

# b. Wayne County Property Sales Update (if any)

Both Newburgh Mill and Wilcox Mill sold in December 2019 to private entities

The development of the Wilcox Mill property is being deliberated at the Plymouth City Commission

- c. Board Development (no training today)
- d. Additional issues from the floor
- h. Sign thank you notes

# 8) ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn made by MM, seconded by DN. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 6:35pm

Respectfully Submitted by:

Susan Thompson FOTR Secretary

# ATTACHMENT JANUARY 9, 2019 FOTR Officer Nominations/Elections

Nomination accepted: (A) Nomination declined: (D)

President

Laura Wagner (A)

Laura Wagner accepted the nomination and elected President by acclamation

Vice-President Alice Bailey: (A)

Alice Bailey accepted the nomination and elected Vice-President by acclamation

Secretary

Susan Thompson: (A)

Susan Thompson accepted the nomination and elected Secretary by acclamation

Treasurer

Andrew Hoffman: \*

Andrew Hoffman acceptance is pending; if he accepts, he will be elected by acclamation

Board Member at Large Mike McNulty (A) Mike Rudell (A)

Election results: Mike Rudell elected as Board Member at Large

<sup>\*</sup> Not present to accept nomination