friends@therouge.org | 734-927-4900 | Fax: 734-927-4920

29 Chances to Build a Rain Garden, Spring 2019!

Dates: Many dates, May 10th through June 30
Times: vary
Locations: Plymouth, Northville, Westland, and Canton

To RSVP, please contact Matthew Bertrand, mbertrand@therouge.org, or 734-927-4903.

Interested in hands-on experience installing rain gardens? This spring, with help from volunteers like you, Friends of the Rouge will install as many as 18 rain gardens. Explore below for the list of projects, or visit Friends of the Rouge’s calendar.

What’s a rain garden? A rain garden is a garden with a job to do: soaking up the rain! The Rouge’s biggest problem is too much dirty water runoff during big storms. Rain garden’s help solve problems with flooded basements, flooded streets, and dirty creeks. Rain gardens look great at home and around your community. Join us to learn more about whether a rain garden is right for you!

WEEKEND PROJECTS

Saturday, May 18, 2019 Rain Garden Maintenance at PCEP Canton High School noon-3pm
Sunday, May 19, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Northville Residence 1pm-5pm
Saturday, June 1, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at Geneva Presbyterian Church 1pm-5pm
Sunday, June 2, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Plymouth Residence 1pm-5pm
Saturday, June 8, 2019 Rain Garden Maintenance at Hulsing Elementary School 9am-noon
Saturday, June 15, 2019Rain Garden Installation at Plymouth Residence 1pm-5pm
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Rain Garden Installation at Plymouth Twp. Park 9am-noon
Sunday, June 23, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Plymouth Residence 1pm-5pm
Saturday, June 29, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at Moraine Elementary School 9am-noon
Sunday, June 30, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Plymouth Residence 1pm-5pm

WEEKDAY PROJECTS

Weekday volunteer workdays have been organized with corporate partners, including Ford, Bosch, Blue Cross Blue Shield, and Coyote Logistics. These projects are open to the public.

Friday, May 10, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Westland Residence 9am-12:30pm
Tuesday, May 14, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Plymouth Residence 1pm-5pm
Thursday, May 16, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at Salem Twp 9am-12:30pm
Tuesday, May 21, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Plymouth Residence 9am-12:30pm
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 Rain Garden Planting at Plymouth Municipal Yard 1pm-3pm
Thursday, May 23, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Canton Residence 1pm-5pm
Friday, May 24, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Plymouth Residence 9am-12:30pm
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at Geneva Presbyterian Church 9am-12:30pm
Thursday, June 6, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at PARC, Plymouth 1pm-5:00pm
Friday, June 7, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at PARC, Plymouth 9am-12:30pm
Thursday, June 13, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at PARC, Plymouth 9am-12:30pm
Friday, June 14, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at PARC, Plymouth 9am-12:30pm
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at Plymouth Twp. Park 9am-12:30pm
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Plymouth Residence 9am-12:30pm
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at Plymouth Twp. Park 1pm-5pm
Tuesday, June 25, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at a Plymouth Residence 9am-noon
Thursday, June 27, 2019 Rain Garden Installation at Moraine Elementary School 9am-12:30pm


This project has been funded in part through the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality’s (DEQ) Nonpoint Source Program by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The contents of the document do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the EPA or the DEQ, nor does the mention of trade names or commercial products constitute endorsement or recommendation for use.